Plan Commission

The Commission is composed of nine members:

  • One member appointed by the Common Council from its membership.
  • One member appointed by the Board of Park Commissioners from its membership.
  • One member or designated representative appointed by the Board of Public Works and Safety.
  • The City Engineer or a qualified assistant appointed by the City Engineer.
  • Five citizen members, appointed by the Mayor; no more than three(3) citizen members may be from the same political party, one citizen member shall be a member of the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Current Members

Member Position Term
Alex Dedelow Citizen Member Expires: 01/02/23
William P. Hutton Citizen Member, Vice-President, PC Appointment to BZA Expires: 01/03/22
Dean Button City Engineer, President Member by Position
Daniel Spitale Common Council Representative Annual Term
Marcus Taylor Board of Park Commissioners Representative Annual Term
Sharon Szany Board of Public Works and Safety Representative Expires: 01/08/24
Roger Brock Citizen Member, BZA Appointment to PC Expires: 01/03/22
Tom Kazmierczak Citizen Member Expires: 01/04/21
Anne Herbert Citizen Member Expires: 01/08/24

Information for the Hammond City Plan Commission can be submitted by sending it to the following address:

Hammond City Plan Commission
Department of Planning and Development
Hammond City Hall, Room G17
5925 Calumet Avenue
Hammond, IN 46320
Telephone Inquiries: (219) 853-6397 Ext. 3

Plan Commission Meeting Video Archive

Plan Commission meetings are streamed live at Meetings are scheduled on the third Monday of each month (except for January and February which are on the Tuesday following the third Monday) and begin at 6:00pm in the Council chambers.

Latest 5 Meetings:

View more videos at